Yong Green Food

15 Aug

I don’t think I’m the only one who’s got difficulty leaving the house, especially in winter. But having company for lunch is a good incentive, and I finally bought some fresh produce from the market in preparation for the upcoming war (with school), including Pho spice mix and 4 cute yellow squash(es?) (have never eaten it).

The last time I was at Yong’s, I’d just given a presentation for a major assignment (which turned out really well), and met up with Bry for a Raw Blueberry Cheesecake and almond milk sweetened with agave nectar. Cheesecake? A+. Almond milk? Meh… it was too gritty and perhaps it was kept next to the savoury food station, it had hints of smokey soy sauce.

The savoury mains on my second visit did not disappoint. Cheryl ordered the Chilli Bean Wrap ($8.50) filled with baby spinach leaves, avocado and cheese and reported that it was pretty good. My raw cashew bread ($10) with tomato, avocado, cucumber, beetroot spread and tomato sauce with a side of salad was DELISH! I could not get enough of the tomato sauce and the dressing on the salad was light and refreshing. Don’t be fooled by the size of the two small pieces of “bread”; this was surprisingly filling.

But my greedy self could not leave without trying the highly recommended Raw Green Tea Cheesecake ($7.50), made from a cashew and coconut base. It was so rich, I felt like a millionaire. I was going “oohh.. I’m full…” *nom* “Can hardly move…” *nom* And then the plate was bare.

As we were leaving, we spied several orders of warm rice and hot curries. We know what we’ll be back for.

Yong Green Food
421 Brunswick Street
Fitzroy

3 Responses to “Yong Green Food”

  1. Steph August 15, 2010 at 11:23 pm #

    I really want to go back to Yong’s! I haven’t been since the first time!

    • Emily C. August 16, 2010 at 1:23 pm #

      I’d like to return for the rawsagna. And I spied some seasonal pecan pie. Hmm… pecans.

      • Steph August 16, 2010 at 1:24 pm #

        Want to go for a Yong’s date on the weekend or for dinner later in the week?

Leave a Reply

