LivingGreens

20 Jan

I got to the dental clinic this morning, just to find out that those stitches holding my gum together can’t be removed as my gums are still too swollen, I can hardly open my jaws to chew, and there will be far too much discomfort. So more medication and back to the clinic on Saturday. AND scheduled to have the other 2 teeth removed on the 31st when I return from Taipei, Taiwan.

Dropped by the office for lunch with my family and colleagues. More dining companions, more options! Living Greens is a 5 minutes walk from the office, but such a shame that I’ve only been here twice. The menu is extensive, with about 6 daily specials including sides and mains. This is another one of the “organic healthy-eating eastern-western” places like Onaka, but absolutely vegan! It boasts of being MSG, white sugar-free, low salt and oil, while cakes are GF.

Despite the lunch hour peak, there was hardly a wait for the food to arrive. We started with an Avocado Salad, filled with heaps of greens and mashed seasoned avocodo, akin to a potato mash, which I loved! It was a refreshing change from the usual avocado chunks. Cold Tofu was also really good, topped with a minced TVP like sauce on top, which was later featured on another noodle dish. The dish that got the omni going “tastes like the real deal!” was the Xiao Long Bao filled with mashed tofu and greens, a dish on the daily special. Certainly doesn’t look much like the famous Taiwanese ones, skin was thick, but otherwise actually quite tasty.

I had wanted the vegan quiche from the daily special, but sadly, was not my day. It was one of the few items that I could probably eat in under an hour with minimal chewing. But the Shepherd’s Pie was so well done! My dad’s favourite, for sure. I want to make this which I think will transport and reheat really well in the bento.

Two of their popular dishes off today’s specials: Bah Kut Teh (pork rib tea), a local favourite, traditionally of pork ribs stewed in a peppery broth. This one was hardly peppery and wasn’t quite what I was looking for. Carrots, woodear fungus, mushrooms and rice vermicelli topped with fresh sprouts. Pumpkin Brown Rice Set, tamari-marinated baked pumpkin, so tasty with two sides of green – raw and cooked. I like the variety here.

Yong Tau Foo (that’s not what it’s called but it was its vegan replica), I didn’t eat that one but I reckon mashed tofu was used to replace the usual fish paste stuff between the vegetables; Zha Jiang Mian shares the same sauce as the cold tofu, yum; and Mushroom Penne.

We had no room left for dessert but I cannot wait to return for the tahu goreng, quiche, lasagna, avocado pudding and black sesame pudding!

LivingGreens
325 Beach Road, Singapore
Tel: +65 6396 5523
Hours: Mon–Sat 11am – 8.30pm Closed on Sun)

4 Responses to “LivingGreens”

  1. steph January 20, 2011 at 9:23 am #

    oh wow oh wow vegan bah kut teh I will have some of that and the xiao long bao too thank you very much.

    • Emily C. January 21, 2011 at 4:19 am #

      Hey if you ever head here enroute Malaysia, that’s what we’ll be having.

  2. Hannah January 20, 2011 at 4:40 pm #

    Oh, yum yum! I miss Cold Tofu dishes from Japan, but I must say it’s the pumpkin rice set that really gets my tum growling 😉

    • Emily C. January 21, 2011 at 4:26 am #

      I usually make my own cold tofu dish with a packet of silken tofu, soy sauce and sesame oil. But I like this TVP-meaty sauce on it too.
      The pumpkin was baked, but tasted more like it was simmered in tamari, so so good. I did a little search and this roasted pumpkin and adzuki bean stew seems like a good substitute with some mushrooms thrown in!

Leave a Reply

