Oh I love you Oskar Mini.

3 May

I have been on an Italian kick last week, and I blame it on the amazing spinach and cashew “ricotta” cannelloni that Danni made for us last week. It wasn’t even that hard to make, (save for useless weak blenders!) this will be a cinch to make now that I am in possession of an Oskar Mini. Goodbye crap blenders!

First up, Vegan Yum Yum’s Mac and Cheese. The recipe called for boiling the potatoes and carrot in a saucepan, but microwaving on high for 5-6 minutes does the job faster! I also skipped the baking towards the end as I was hungry and did not want to deal with more washing. So tasty and easy, and doesn’t thicken up quickly like the other recipes that use a heap of nutritional yeast and flour.

Two nights later, I made VYY’s Tomato Basil Cream Pasta, using a tin of tomatoes as I didn’t have any fresh ones. Also with the food processor (remember to put on the lid in the chute; I now have some pasta sauce on my ceiling), this was super fast. I might soak the cashews first next time as the sauce wasn’t super smooth. I also sauteed some marinated tempeh (soy sauce, dark soy sauce, white pepper and sesame oil) before adding the sauce in. Whole wheat spaghetti has so much more texture than the white ones; I enjoyed the chewiness and the fact that it is almost impossible to over cook it – perfect.

Roasted some pumpkin, potatoes, brussel sprouts and an onion on the first night, then had leftovers over a salad on the second with a balsamic dressing.

DESSERT! Apple Strudel/Turnovers – thinly slice two apples, marinate in some cinnamon, nutmeg, all spice, 3 tbs sugar and some lemon juice, then wrap it in thawed puff pastry. This one is from her book! I used two sheets of pastry, so had enough desserts for two nights, complete with a scoop of vanilla ice-cream each.

There have been a bout of cheeze posts lately on VegMel, with the latest being Vege Quiche. Sounds like a good plan for dinner tonight.

Mac N Cheeze
(from Vegan Yum Yum)

Macaroni for 4

1 Cup Peeled, Finely Chopped Potatoes
1/4 Cup Finely Chopped Carrots

1/3 Cup Raw Cashews
1 Tbs Miso (I used red)
1 Tbs Tahini
1 Tbs Lemon Juice
1/2 tsp Dijon Mustard
1/3 Cup Nuttelex Margarine
1/3 Cup Nutritional Yeast
1 tsp Salt
Black Pepper to taste
1/4 cup water

Boil macaroni in a pot of salted water.

Cube potatoes and carrots and microwave on high in an air-tight container with vent with a bit of water, until soft. Takes about 6 minutes.

In the food processor, blend cashews, miso, tahini, lemon juice, mustard, Nuttelex, nutritional yeast, salt and pepper with 1/4 cup water. Then the softened potatoes and carrots, until sauce is smooth and creamy.

Serve this over cooked and drained macaroni.

Tomato Basil Cream Pasta
(from Vegan Yum Yum)

Whole Wheat Spaghetti for 3

1 tin of chopped tomatoes
1/3 Cup Raw Cashews
1 Tbs Tomato Paste
1/4 cup water

2 Tbs Olive Oil
2-4 Cloves Garlic, minced
1 tsp Salt
1-2 tsp Freshly Cracked, Coarse Black Pepper
1 Large Handful Fresh Basil Leaves, chopped

Marinated Tempeh

1/2 packet of tempeh
2 tbs soy sauce
1 tbs dark soy sauce
1 tbs sesame oil
2 tbs water
some ground white pepper

Marinate chopped (or broken up by hand) tempeh and set aside for 15 minutes.

Boil pasta in a pot of salted water.

Blend tomatoes, cashews, tomato paste and water until smooth.

Saute tempeh in some olive oil, until nicely browned, then garlic. Add blended sauce in and simmer for about 5-10 minutes, stirring occasionally. I thinned mine out with some water. Salt to taste. Add cooked and drained pasta in, then season with black pepper and chopped basil.

3 Responses to “Oh I love you Oskar Mini.”

  1. steph May 5, 2011 at 1:42 pm #

    I could have sworn I left a comment on this post! What it would have said is that I love that tomato sauce from VYY! I add a little nutritional yeast (only a tiny bit), and I do soak the cashews in hot water for a little bit before I blend them. OH YEAH.

    • Emily C. May 10, 2011 at 7:05 pm #

      and that’s what I plan to do the next time. Still got the lasagna and quiche to make before I take a break from Italian nights. :p

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Baked Portobello and Cheeze Sammich | Sugarspoons - May 28, 2011

    […] recalled making Oven Roasted Portobello Sammiches two days after the amazing Mac N’ Cheeze as I had a lot of leftover cheeze sauce. It did not disappoint. The combination of portobello, […]

Leave a Reply

