Las Vegan Brunch

23 May

Definitely one of those run-a-million-errands-and-eat-brunch-too Sundays; get petrol, eat brunch, buy bread and milo (forgot the juice), buy coffee beans and return library books. And squeeze in a stomachache while we’re at it >.< It was mostly agony from activity 2 onwards. But am glad that we managed to visit Las Vegan on its first Sunday opening, and it was buzzing! I am so glad that those odd operating hours are over! I haven't been there in a while for no more than chai and cake, so was nice to enjoy some savouries.

On the Specials Board today was 2 types of Pancakes – Sour Cherry or TempehCon. Smoky tempeh bacon! It was really tasty but such a pity with only a few teeny slices! Sandwiched between each pancake was maple syrup, which was such a lovely balance between sweet and savoury. I have Vegan Brunch, so will have to make this again, but not till I find some Liquid Smoke…

Ger had the schnitzel with chips. Love the hand cut chips! The deep-fried crumbed mock meat was teeny and a tad stodgy with the oil (perhaps not hot enough?) but I loved the texture and its junk food nature that I hardly ever get to eat!

My schoolmate Maddie was working there so was nice to see the place all happy and people nomming on those amazing fried rice balls.

Where’s The Beef gave a positive review on their recent visit (though our salad was certainly not as generous!) and Easy As Vegan Pie‘s photos reveal saucy burgers are to be had. I still adore those rice balls.

Las Vegan Bakery
http://www.lasvegan.com.au/
22 Smith Street, Collingwood
Hours: Sun, Tues & Wed 11 – 3pm, Thurs – Fri 11 – 3pm, 5.30 – 9.30pm, Sat 9.30 – 3.30pm, 5.30 – 9.30pm

8 Responses to “Las Vegan Brunch”

  1. Shawna May 23, 2011 at 7:15 am #

    That tempeh bacon looks sooooo good! You can get liquid smoke at Leo’s Supermarket in Heidelberg and at USA foods in Moorabbin.

    • Emily C. May 23, 2011 at 12:22 pm #

      It was very tasty! Thanks for the suggestions; I haven’t been to either, so will be something to do once I am on my semester break.

  2. Danielle May 23, 2011 at 11:19 am #

    Also Leo’s in Kew. It’s hidden on the end of an aisle, above eye height.

    • Emily C. May 23, 2011 at 12:24 pm #

      Which store is better? Kew or Heidelberg? I could go to Heide Museum and then Leo’s!

  3. Cindy May 23, 2011 at 12:10 pm #

    Thanks for this sneak peak of the brunch menu! I really wanna make my way over and try it.

    Oh, and I’ve purchased liquid smoke from the deli in Lygon Court, Carlton if that’s any use to you. 🙂

    • Emily C. May 23, 2011 at 12:25 pm #

      Thanks! That is so much closer to home so might be an extra incentive to actually buy and make the facon.
      There was also fuscramble + mushrooms + tempeh on toast on the brekkie menu.

  4. Louise May 23, 2011 at 7:55 pm #

    liquid smoke can also be found at Thomas Dux and most specialty foodie stores…

    • Emily C. May 24, 2011 at 6:19 pm #

      I don’t go to these places much (afraid that I’ll walk away with too many things that I don’t need!) but I’ll have a look for sure. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

